Home Page

 Research

 Publications

 Teaching

 Research Team


 
 
Shahram Pezeshk, Ph.D., P.E.
Chair and Emison Professor of Civil Engineering

Engineering Science Building - Room 104B
Department of Civil Engineering
The University of Memphis
Memphis, TN  38152


Phone: (901) 678-4727 (office)
Secretary : (901) 678-2746
spezeshk@memphis.edu

 

 
 
Research Team:
       
Post Doctoral

Behrooz Tavakoli, Ph.D.

 

Bechtel Corp

San Francisco

btavakol@bechtel.com

Research: Seismic Hazard

 

2004-2007
 

Lijun Liu, Ph.D.

 

Research: Probabilistic Seismic Hazard Analysis

 

1998-1999
   
 
 
Visiting Scholar Zoya Farajpour


Earthquake Engineering at International
Institute of Earthquake Engineering and Seismology (IIEES), Tehran, IRAN
Email: zoya.farajpour@gmail.com

Research: GMPEs Development  for Iran

2015-2016
       
Doctoral      
  Nima Nazemi

Email: nnazemi@memphis.edu

Phone Number: (901) 27 nine -0397

 

 

ongoing

  Arash Yarahmadi

Email: yrahmadi@memphis.edu
Email: Arash.yarahmadi@gmail.com
Phone Number: (901) 6014349
Dissertation title : Equivalent linear and nonlinear site response analysis

ongoing
 

Ali Farhadi

 

Email: afarhadi@memphis.edu
Email: farhadia99@yahoo.com
 

ongoing
 

Farhad Sedaghati


Email: fsdghati@memphis.edu
Email: farhad_seda@yahoo.com
web: https://sites.google.com/site/farhadsedaghatium/home
Phone Number: 662-801- six 297
 

 

ongoing
 

Alireza (Kia) Soltani


Email: a.haji.soltani@memphis.edu
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/alirezahajisoltani
Phone Number: (626) 3 two 1 1014


Dissertation Title: A Comprehensive Study on a Site-Specific Hazard Analysis for a Liquid Natural Gas (LNG) Tank Station

ongoing
 

Jalal Kiani

 

E-mail: jkiani@memphis.edu
Research: Ground Motion Selection

ongoing
       
 

Yousef Ghaffari, Ph.D.

 

Current Position: Project Engineer at MUEngineers company
Email: youssef.ghaffari@gmail.com
Email: yghaffari@MUEngineers.com

Dissertation Title:Improved Value for load Increased Factor in Progressive Collapse

 

2015
 

Alireza Shahjouei, Ph.D.

 

Current Position: AIG
Title: Senior Research Scientist / CAT Risk Engineer
Email: alireza.shahjouei@aig.com
alireza.shahjouei@gmail.com


Dissertation Title: Alternative Ground-Motion Model for the Central and Eastern North America Using a New Hybrid Broadband Simulation Technique

Website: www.aig.com

2015
 

David (Seyed Mehrdad) Hosseini, Ph.D.
 

Current Position: Engineering Seismologist / Structural Engineer
Title: Engineering Seismologist / Structural Engineer
Email: mehrdad80h@gmail.com
Email: mehrdad.hosseini@aecom.com
web: https://umdrive.memphis.edu/shsseini/m.hosseini/

Dissertation: "Reducing Uncertainties in the Velocities Determined By Inversion of Phase Velocity Dispersion Curves Using Synthetics Seismograms."

Dissertation Part 1

Dissertation Part 2

Dissertation Part 3

2014
 

Ali Hajihashemi, PhD, PE


Current Position: Sunrun


Alihajihashemi@gmail.com
www.sunrun.com

Dissertation title:
Evaluation of Displacement-based Design Procedures for Bridges in High-seismic Regions.

2013
 

Mojtaba Malek, Ph.D.

 

Current Position: WSP|PB
Title: Senior Geotechnical/Earthquake Engineer
mail: malekm@pbworld.com

Dissertation Title: Statistical Study of Ground Motion Amplification in the Mississippi Embayment

2013
 

 

 

 

Arash Zandieh, Ph.D., P.E.

 

Current Position: Lettis Consultants International, Inc.
Title: Senior project Engineer
Email: arash.zandieh@live.com

web: http://www.lettisci.com/

Dissertation Title: Ground-Motion Prediction Equations and Seismic Hazard Analysis in Central and Eastern North America

https://umdrive.memphis.edu/azandih1/arash_zandieh/index.htm

azandih1@memphis.edu

2011
 

 

Scott Stovall, Ph.D.

 

Current Position: United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission (U.S. NRC)
Title: Seismologist
Email: scott.stovall@nrc.gov
Email: spstovll@gmail.com
web: www.nrc.gov

Dissertation Title:
An improved method for the identification and inversion of multi-mode Rayleigh surface wave dispersion collected from non-uniform arrays utilizing a moving source approach.

 

Dissertation (PDF format)

2010
 

Ali Shahbazian, Ph.D.

 

Current Position: Shannon & Wilson, Inc., Seattle, Washington
Title: Senior Geotechnical Engineer
Email: aas@shanwil.com
Email: ashahbzn@gmail.com

Dissertation Title: Spectrum Matching of Recorded Ground Motions with Improved Velocity and Displacement Time Histories in Frequency Space

 

2009
 

Hugo Rojas, Ph.D., P.E.

 

CH2M HILL

Denver, Co

Dissertation: "Automating the Design of Steel Moment Frames Using a Probabilistic Performance-Based Approach and Evolutionary Computation."

hugo.rojas@ch2m.com

 

2008
 

Morteza (Bijan) Zarrabi, Ph.D.

 

mzarrabi@memphis.edu

 

Dissertation: A New Procedure for Estimation of Shear Wave Velocity Profiles Using Multi-Station Spectral Analysis of Surface Waves, Regression Line Slope, and Genetic Algorithm Methods."

 

2006
 

Arzhang Alimoradi, Ph.D., P.E.

 

Clinical Faculty

Southern Methodist University

 

Arzhang@johnmartin.com

Dissertation: " Probabilistic Performance-Based  Seismic Design Automation  of Nonlinear Steel Structures  Using Genetic Algorithms."

 

 
 

Jiang He, Ph.D., P.E.

2000
 

Shiuan Wan

 

Current Position: Professor, also the chair of Ling Tung University Library

Title: Department of Information Management& Information network

Email: Shiuan.wan@gmail.com

Year Graduated: Master 1995, PhD 1998

Dissertation Title: The analytical and experimental studies for structures subjected to intraplate and interplate earthquake considering P-delta effect
 

1998
 

Debin Chen, Ph.D., P.E.

Current Position: Oakhill Engineering, LLC, President
Email: dchen@oakhillengineering.com

Austin, TX

1997
 

Yupeng Wang, Ph.D., P.E.

Email: peterw102002@yahoo.com

 

Current Position: Walter P. Moore
Atlanta, GA 30309
Tel: 678-553-5200
Fax: 678-553-5273
Direct: 678-553-5232
 

1998
 

Lijun Liu, Ph.D.

Dissertation: "Ground Motion Estimation and its Application in the Seismic Hazard analyses of West Tennessee."

 

1997
       
Masters      
 

Andy Kizzee

Thesis Title: "Empirical Relationships To Estimate Shear-Wave Velocity Profiles From SPT Information in the New Madrid Seismic Zone."

 

2009
 

Mark Mize

Thesis: "Assessment of the Seismic Vulnerability of the University of Memphis Main Campus Buildings."

 

McVeigh & Mangum Engineering, Inc.

Jacksonville, FL  32256

Phone (904) 483-5200

mmize@mcveighmangum.com

 

2006
 

Scott Stovall

Thesis: "Values of Qs in the Unconsolidated Sediments of the Mississippi Embayment."

 

2004
 

Hugo Rojas

harojas@memphis.edu

 

 

Thesis: "An Empirical Procedure to Estimate Shear-Wave Velocity of Soils in Mississippi Embayment Using a Genetic Algorithm-Based Optimization."

 

2004
   

Chad Stewart, P.E.

2003
   

Jason Mayo, P.E.

2003
   

Alpa  Patel

2003
   

Robert Paullus, P.E.

2001
   

Clay Williams, P.E.

2000
   

James M. Evans, Jr., P.E.

1998
   

Steven Williamson, P.E.

1997
   

Tanya Dawson

1996
   

Rick McIntosh

1996
   

Bao-Zhu Wei

1995
   

Anish Talati

1995
   

Shiuan Wan

萬絢 [shiuan123@mail.ltu.edu.tw]

1995